The Importance of Other Family

The Importance of Other Family

   Sister Strength

“Women have always been

courageous… they are always

fearless when it comes

to protecting their children and

in the last century they have

been fearless in the fight for

their rights.”

-Isabel Allende

“A sister is a

gift to the heart

A friend to the spirit

And A golden thread

to the meaning of life.”

Hello friends, happy rainy days to all! Have I told you my sisters are my best friends? If you had not already read deep into me. They are not only my sisters, they are my support group, they are a slightly different versions of myself. Each of us brings something different to the table, Jenny is the strong, incredibly, passionate, amazing woman, she is intense about parenting, life, food, health and exercise, at times overbearing,(I love her just the same). Amybeth determined just the same, loving, strong willed, listing, kind. We inspire each other to be a better people, better Women, better Wifes and mostly better Mother’s.

We all need the support of our immediately family as well as the support from other family members or friends. Sometime we need other resources other supports that our immediate family has to offer. These people are huge into us bettering ourselves and living our happiest and healthiest lives, mentally and physically.

My, Jenny

My strongest sister, Jenny, mentally and physically. who I am eighteen months younger than, might I add. Even though if you ask a stranger who they think is the oldest, it never fails they always guess I am the oldest. I must seem more mature than her, is all. Jenny is the most determined and strong willed person I know, she has always been like this. Even in my most distant childhood memory, she was always leading the way, causing the trouble. And naturally I would follow my amazing big sister. We were not super close growing up, but in our adult years we are inseparable.

Jenny is all or none, there is none of this in between business with her. She is an amazing Wife and Mother of four children, she is the reason I did a home birth she is the reason I decided to wake up to my life. She is constantly looking for the bigger picture, how she can better herself as a person, Mother and Wife. She is so passionate about health and fitness, I strive to be like her, she strives to be like me.

We are an amazing team, we bring out the best and sometimes worst in each other but we are always real with each other. We will never let one another down, if one of us slips through the cracks, the other is right there as a spot.  A Mother of four, my best friend, my sister, my inspiration. We are so lucky time was on our side, we were pregnant together three out of the seven pregnancies we shared together. And now raising children at the same time, we are at a whole new level. We help each other give constructive, feedback, or just plain call each other out, in a loving mannerism, mostly. Even when we argue or disagree, we work it out on the spot.

My Lovely Amybeth

And then there is my sweet little sister Amybeth, she is three years younger than me. Some days I still picture her in the basement, one of our many, old houses growing up, she is dancing and singing to Insync on her bed, into her imaginary microphone. With her freckly nose and beautiful coppery red hair. To this day she, still is an amazing dancer. I have to pinch myself, she is almost thirty and a Mother and a new Wife. She is sweet, she is strong, she is caring, she always listens to me when I need to vent, she is oh so present in my life. She has been through many hardships, with a horrid bout of meningitis. She was hospitalized  for three weeks after my daughter, Violet was born. It was horrifying, one of the scariest memories I have. If you are unfamiliar with the disease: Meningitis is an inflammation of the membranes (meninges) surrounding your brain and spinal cord. The swelling associated with meningitis often triggers the “hallmark” signs and symptoms of this condition, including headache, fever and a stiff neck. 10-12% of meningitis cases in the industrialized countries are fatal. 20% of meningitis survivors suffer long-term consequences, such as brain damage, kidney disease, hearing loss, or limb amputation.

In Amybeth’s case one afternoon living with our sister Jenny, her husband and two boys at the time, Amybeth’s symptoms suddenly hit her walking down the stairs. She could barely get an utterance out of her drooling mouth and could hardly drag her body to the car, from the temporary paralysis of the left side of her body.  It scrambled her mind and she has been struggling with it ever since. She overcomes it with her determination and loving heart, she doesn’t let it get in her way, she pushes right on through it. She does because she has to, because she is a Mother, she is a strong Woman, a lovely Wife, and an amazing human, and mostly to me an amazing sister! Jenny and Amybeth are my girls, they are my people, they are my core support group besides Rudy.

We Created A Small Army

I spend many afternoons with a house full of wacky amazing children and these lovely ladies. The best afternoon coffee drinks, nine children between the three of us tangled between our legs, homemade treats, mass interruption, the chaotic messes, and destruction of our adventuresome tribe.

I love the chaos, I look forward to my sister filled afternoons. Our children are more like siblings than cousins, we are so blessed they get to grow up with such a close knit. Speaking of cousins I could never forget my Britty, my pretty much sister she is always in this mix of ladies and with her children a grand total of eleven children, who I was so blessed to be apart of her beautiful wedding day! I love you so much Britty! Jenny and Amybeth are neighbors, by the way, it is so great. We all just congregate from one house to the next, rotating baby naps and children’s feet happily running back and forth from house to house with a trail of toys and crumbs trailing behind.

The Tribe of Ten

Amybeth’s baby, Isla is the youngest of the bunch, she is almost one, my baby, Jack is fifteen months, Jennys one and only girl, Maevey is eighteen months, Milo now is three, Jenny’s youngest boy, Finny, is four. My sweet June, is five this year, Amybeth’s, boy, Ryder just turned six, Stratton is also six and oldest of the bunch is Kelton he is seven, Jenny’s other two boys. There is also my niece Addy, she is three my sister, Melissa’s daughter. With a grand total of ten children, if you lost count don’t worry. Add my cousin Brittys two Ella is seven and Karter is three, and we are up to twelve! I would be surprised if you got it all straight the first time around. I would be downright impressed.

I love these ladies and our wacky full of life tribe of children more than life, they are amazing each and every one of them. I am inspired to be a better Mother, Wife and person in this world, because of them. I don’t think I tell them this enough. I don’t know what I would ever do without them. They are a huge part of my heart and my sanity.

It is so important to have a strong support group of like minded people. This is all part of becoming a better you, the best and happiest version of yourself. I know as a woman I need support, I need emotional support and I need to vent sometimes. In a way my husband, just can’t fulfill or understand in it’s entirety. We are the same gender and there is something to say for that.

I am not saying you have to agree with every word or have to follow in each others every shadow, this is not a cult, these are your people. Individually we can bring our own uniqueness and happiness to the table, we can strengthen and mostly inspire each other to be better.  Disagreements are healthy and always make for memorable conversations, that in turn can unintentionally help build us up into a better versions of ourselves. We need to be there to inspire eacher, to new ideas, to lead each other, to love eachother. And sometimes no words are needed, just a listening ear or a shoulder to cry on. Until next time friends!

 

One thought on “The Importance of Other Family

Leave a Reply

